You are here

Number 235

Magna Carta - Magna Carta (Mercury 201665MCL)

Magna Carta was founded by a fellow Yorkshireman in 1969, Chris Simpson, who still leads the band to this day. Their gentle acoustic sound straddled the boundaries of acoustic folk and progressive rock at a time when just about anything being created fell under that banner. Although many cite subsequent LPs Seasons and Lord of Ages as standard bearers, their debut album certainly evokes the period and quite possibly hasn’t aged in the same manner of its predecessors. The LP also features Danny Thompson, together with Lyell Tranter, Johnny Van Derek, Harold McNair, Frank Hedges, Tony Carr and Glen Stuart